The only resolution and the only joy.

Apparently, one of the most important choices of your life is deciding who you marry?

I’ve probably only ever been to half a dozen weddings in my life. It’s never been my favourite event or celebration but I can’t really put my finger on why not. It’s likely a male pride or bravado thing and that has got me and my friends into trouble on plenty of occasions.

One of my friends will announce that they’ve got engaged and immediately the cry will go up, “What are you thinking” or “Man overboard”.

In reality, although none of the boys would admit it out loud, we all want that special someone to settle down with and who will share with us the rest of our lives together.

We are now mostly all at that stage where we’ve identified the girl that we want to be with .

That said, truth be told, we’ve all been picked by a girl that has realised that for all of our faults, she’ll know that one of us is the man that she wants to make her husband. Most of my male friends are now married, a lot are engaged and a couple of them are single. The single ones are now jealous of the ones who are with someone, changed days indeed. Some are even saying that they look forward to their respective wedding days!

I’m one of those people that doesn’t take to a lot of people straight away. I take time to suss people out, to decide if they’ll play a part in my life or not and I wish it’s something that I could change. Some people mistake it for arrogance but it’s not, I’m just suspicious given the way that some people have treated me in the past. I hold that against potential new friends to be and I hate that, it’s not cool on my part.

Despite that, Jay Z has said something that resonates with me.” I’m a mirror. If you’re cool with me, I’m cool with you, and the exchange starts. What you see is what you reflect. If you don’t like what you see, then you’ve done something. If I’m standoffish, that’s because you are.”

That predisposition of mine can make me a nightmare in social situations. Picture the scene, I get invited to a wedding to a couple that I don’t know. I’m the plus one invite. I’m incredibly grateful for the invitation but I’m immediately scared that I don’t do my female partner justice.

These are her friends. What if I don’t like either the bride or the groom? What if I get drunk and make a fool of myself? What if a bridesmaid comes onto me and I find it difficult to refuse her advances?

I’m kidding about the bridesmaid bit!

I was at a wedding recently as a plus one guest and knew neither the bride nor the groom.

I was introduced to the groom though as soon as I walked into the hotel and I warmed to him immediately. This was someone that I had never met before but I knew from the way he was with me that this was going to be a good day. I took to him immediately, a rare thing for me, we seemed to have the same sense of humour.

The bride was stunning and has the most amazing personality, how could this be a bad day?

The weddings that I’ve been to in the past have been different. As I’ve known at least one of the wedding party previously, I’ve not had to focus on the day and all that has unfolded before me. This time was different and in the best way possible.

I got to sit back and enjoy the day. The family of the bride and groom were absolutely box office and treated everyone magnificently.

As I watched on, I realised that the bride and groom were suited to each other beyond belief. They were clearly in love with each other and every single person couldn’t say enough nice things about them. It was true though, I watched on and was envious about their love and feelings for one another. That should be what we all aspire to.

It’s something that all of us should have.

Thank you for inviting me to be a part of your wedding, I’m blessed to have shared your day.

Everyone should have someone that holds them close.

Leave a comment